Artists honoured at Dsrac awards

Eastern Cape creatives help promote excellence in arts, culture

EXCELLENCE: Some of the recipients of the 6th annual Dsrac Arts and Culture Awards held at East London International Convention Centre last Friday. Picture: SUPPLIED

Eastern Cape locals in the arts and culture world were honoured at the 6th annual Provincial Arts and Culture Awards held at the East London International Convention Centre last Friday.

Hosted by the Department of sport, recreation and and culture (Dsrac), the awards celebrate and recognise individuals, groups, organisations or institutions who have played a role in promoting excellence in arts and culture.

Award winner Sonwa Sakuba said he felt honoured to be recognised.

“An award of this magnitude excites me as it fuels me with the drive to work even harder, and to pursue all my future endeavors with excellence.

“Growing up, my parents believed in my talent and my dreams, and even though it was tough at first, they ensured that I received the right training that has got me to get to where I am today,” Sakuba said.

EL theatre director extraordinaire Amanda Bothma also received an award for drama directing.

“Directing is a hard job and for the department to recognise and give encouragement is a privilege. I’m fortunate to put out productions on at the well equipped Guild Theatre.”

Bothma has a lot planned for this year, including the National Arts Festival.

Dsrac MEC Fezeka Bayeni said the amount of creative talent the Eastern Cape had produced remained unmatched, but admitted that a lot of talent left the province for greener pastures elsewhere.

“Through our support to entities like the Eastern Cape Provincial Arts and Culture Council, EL Guild Theatre, Port Elizabeth Opera House and the Eastern Cape Audio Visual Centre, we are committed to ensuring that the Eastern Cape doesn’t only produce talent, but our creative talent receives the necessary support for it to succeed and thrive within the province,” Bayeni said.

Dsrac received over 180 nomination for 23 categories, which were open to any person who had achieved on the provincial, national or international stage.

Seven professional adjudicators in music, indigenous knowledge, visual and performing arts and language selected the deserving recipients.

Other award winners were:

Khanyiso Dakada: Individual Lifetime Contribution to Arts and Culture

Classical Choral Singers and Academy: Music (Group)

Sipho Michael Lisa: Music (individual)

Jeanne Mould: Drama (set design)

Xolisile Bongwana: Dance (choreography)

Via Paterson Arts Club: Club: Dance (production)
Siphiwo Sobopha: Best Visual Artists in 2D Art

Siyathemba Siyobi: Best Visual Artists in 3D Art

Archibald Monyepao: Craft (Best Designer)

Ntombizanele Nyosi: Craft (Best Producer)

Nompucuko Zakaza: Literature (Oral IsiXhosa)

Mohlauli Lethola: Written Literature (Sesotho)

Bevan Boggenpoel: Written Literature (English)

Olivia Nomtinjana Mqaqa: Sign Language and Promotion

Anthony Drake: Arts and Culture Management

Lulamile Feni: Arts and Culture Journalism

Luzuko Dilima: Film Contributor

Ncedisile Victor Hulushe: Film

Mphumzi Xonxa: Indigenous Knowledge Systems Promotion

Special Awards:

Mawawa Creations: Craft

Sonwabiso Ngcai: Visual Art 3D

Zikhona Voyi: Craft Curation

Jahmil XT Qubeka: Filmmaking and Screenwriting

Sibusisiwe Nodada: Fashion Design Development

Sonwa Sakuba: Performing Arts

Nobesuthu Rayi: Arts Management

Mthuthuzeli Scott: Promotion of IsiXhosa in Sport

Mandisa Ngcuza: Music Development

Linda Sithole: Fashion Design

Simphiwe Botile, Qalintombi Priscilla Moses, Mandilakhe Gwashu: Performing Arts

Loyiso Nqevu: Indigenous Knowledge Systems

Luyolo Yiba: Music

Mzuvukile Skin Sipoko: Performing Arts (Posthumous)

Stompi Mavi: Music (Posthumous)

Magaret Mcingana: Music (Posthumous)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here