Nominations open for National Teaching Awards

The department of basic education (DBE) is calling on teachers across the country to take part in the upcoming National Teaching Awards (NTA) which will be taking place later in the year.

HONOURING TALENT: Basic education minister Angie Motshekga will be hosting the final ceremony of the National Teaching Awards later this year

Established back in 2000, the awards were established in order to celebrate and honour the efforts of teachers in all grades.

Due to the ongoing pandemic, the department said that this year’s awards will be conducted in strict adherence to the necessary health and safety protocols.

“The competition is open to all teachers in the public schooling sector registered in terms of the South African Schools Act,” the department said.

“The NTAs are aimed at motivating teachers to continue the selfless endeavours they make for the benefit of the country.”

The department said that they wanted to acknowledge the serious disruption over the last two years brought about by Covid-19 and the following lockdown restrictions.

“As a result of the extra-ordinary efforts made by teachers under extreme conditions, the department has therefore introduced new awards to pay homage to individuals who have demonstrated commitment, dedication and sacrifice during crisis situations,” the department said.

“To this end, new categories have been added and they are: National Best Teacher Awards, S/Hero Award and the Learner Award.

“Other categories are Lifetime Achievement Award, National Learner Award, Excellence in Maths Teaching, Grade R Teaching, Special Needs, Primary School Teaching, Secondary School Teaching, etc.”

To reach a broader audience of teachers, the DBE said that they had adopted the characteristics of the Global Teacher Prize, which means this year’s ceremony will be tailored differently to previous versions.

Nominations for the awards will start at school level and proceed to the districts. The process will then be repeated in the provinces until the winners reach the final stage, with finalists being chose by a national adjudication panel.

The finalists will then take part in a ceremony hosted by basic education minister Angie Motshekga.

Entry forms can be obtained from the department’s website at Entries close on July 31.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CAPTCHA ImageChange Image