Thrilling final drag event of year draws 25 entries

FULL THROTTLE: Bets Radloff in the Nissan 350Z, left, and Stephen Nel in the VW Golf battle it out during an awesome day of drag racing at the East London Grand Prix Circuit on Saturday. It was the final drag racing event of the year Picture: TREVOR KITCHING

THE last Motorsport South Africa (MSA) drag racing event for the year ended the drag racing season off with a bang on Saturday.

Twenty-five entries ranged from four-cylinder front-wheel drive Golf 1s to 5 cylinder all-wheel drive Audis, 6 cylinder Nissans and BMWs to the ultimate champion … the Nissan GTR 35, driven by Gordon Nicholson and Viswa Williams.

The GTRs had a strong battle the whole day, but at the end it was Nicholson taking it in his Blue Nissan GTR 35.

Nicholson’s fastest time on Saturday was 10.803 seconds, but his fastest time this year was a 10.6 second quarter mile.

Williams managed to get down to an 11.038 second quarter mile in his Black Nissan GTR 35.

He showed immense improvement, so next year the heat will be on Nicholson to defend his times.

“We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the competitors and spectators for all the support during the year,” Border Motorsport Club drags chairman Stephen Nel said. “We have managed to build up a great sport in East London and next year will be even better.

“Also, a massive thanks to Border Motorsport Club for all the support and guidance and for making these events possible.”

The rest of the results are as follows:

● Class – 4 AF

1Ryan Bennetta – 13.900 seconds

2Brendan de Lange – 14.436 seconds

3Amhed Khan – 15.143 seconds

4Bruce Bronkhorst – 16.568 seconds

● Class – 4 AFS

1Stephen Nel – 13.579 seconds

2Paul Lowe – 15.303 seconds

● Class – 4 ARS

1Nadiem Obaray – 15.133 seconds

● Class – 4BR

1Fortyn Rally – 15.423 seconds

● Class – 4 EX

1Nicholas Nel – 13.054 seconds

2Dane Langhein – 13.661 seconds

● Class – 6 WD

1Gordon Nicholson – 10.803 seconds

2Viswa Williams – 11.038 seconds

● Class – 4 WD

1Russel Rensburg – 11.655 seconds

● Class – 6AR

1Trevor Wiltshire – 13.583 seconds

2Bets Radloff – 13.822 seconds

3Michael Radloff – 13.995 seconds

4Nigel Muller – 15.799 seconds

● Class – 6 B

1Lance Casojee – 11.596 seconds

2Quinton King – 11.829 seconds

3Jarren Marillier – 12.586 seconds

4Owen Bridger – 13.792 seconds

5Terry Gafney – 14.212 seconds

● Class – 8AS

1Riaaz Jogie – 14.398 seconds

● Class – 8 BR

1Viswa Williams – 11.541 seconds


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CAPTCHA ImageChange Image