Locals dominate MBSA Surf Championships

The Buffalo City Surf Riders pose together following the awards ceremony

Buffalo City Surfriders were on top form at the 54st annual Mercedes- Benz South Africa (MBSA) Surfing Championships held which took place at Nahoon Reef, and which ended on came to a close on Sunday.

The star of the event was undoubtedly 15-year-old Zoe Steyn, who won the Open Women’s category for the second year in a row.

Steyn was also awarded the Dave Fish Trophy for Most Consistent Surfer of the tournament.

Tyrell Johnson also flew the Buffalo City flag high, winning both the O/35 Men’s category as well as being named Surfer of the Contest.

“I’m so stoked for the win. It’s unfortunate for Devyn [Matteus, runner-up] but these things happen. It’s been a great win,” Johnson said.

Johnson came second in the Open Men’s category, losing out to Jeffreys Bay surfer Joshe Faulkner.

Buffalo City’s Greg Emslie managed to defeat Nelson Mandela Bay’s Warwick Heny to take the O/40 Men’s category, with fellow BCM residents Trystan Johnson and Graeme Field coming third and fourth respectively.

“One thing I’ve stuck by through my surfing is always to thank my fellow competitors. It’s sometimes one of the hardest things to stick by because when they beat you, you hate them, but they make you work harder and surf better,” Emslie said.

“To my competitors, thanks very much for lifting all our levels.”

Sadly, no Buffalo City surfers made it to the O/45 Men’s finals but they made up for it by claiming the top three positions in 0/50 Men’s. First place went to Dave Malherbe, second to Gareth Sepp and third to Andre Malherbe.

“Thank you to my fellow competitors. I don’t know if they make me get older or younger but they keep me on my toes,” said Dave.

The O/55 Men’s category was also led by Buffalo City, with local surfers Nick Pike and Mike Brent claiming first and second respectively.

The final Men’s age category, O/60, went to local surfer Gordon Harmer.

Buffalo City surfer Cindy Anderson came fourth in the O/30 Women’s category.

In addition to the many individual awards, Buffalo City also claimed the President’s Cup for the highest score in the open division, having earned 33,790 points.

Second place went to Nelson Mandela Bay, while iLembe Surfriders took third.

They also held on to the Masters Cup, which is awarded for most points in the age divisions, for the 14th year in a row. Nelson Mandela Bay earned second place, while Ugu Surfriders came in third.

Finally, Buffalo City Surfriders were awarded the Champions Cup for highest combined points. In second place was Nelson Mandela Bay and in third, was iLembe.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here