2021 Kearsney Rugby Festival teams named

The teams for the 2021 Kearsney Easter Rugby Festival have been announced, with three new schools being added to the roster.

SPECIAL OCCASSION: The 2021 Kearsney Easter Rugby Festival will coincide with Kearsney College’s centenary celebrations. Pictured is Selbone flanker Jarrod Taylor at the 2019 festival

Two of the new schools, Michaelhouse and Hilton College, are from KwaZulu-Natal while the third school, Kingswood College, is from Makhanda.

They will join traditional Kearsney rivals Martizburg College and Glenwood High School from KwaZulu-Natal, Hoërskool Dr EG Jansen and Pretoria Boys High from Gauteng, Hoërskool Noord-Kaap from the Northern Cape and Eastern Cape-based Selborne College, Dale College and Hoërskool Framesby.

Next year’s festival marks a special occasion, since it is also hosts Kearsney College’s centenary year.

“We are delighted that schools, both independent and State, drawn from across the country, have accepted the invitation to celebrate Kearsney’s centenary year with us at this festival,” said Kearsney headmaster Elwyn van den Aardweg.

“The different styles of play that characterise each participating school will ensure that every fixture is set up to produce thrilling contests in the finest traditions of schoolboy rugby.”

The 2020 festival was cancelled due to the outbreak of Covid-19 but organisers say that preparations are undeway to ensure the 2021 centenary is “commemorated in style”.

In addition to the Easter Rugby Festival, special events planned include 24-hour inter-house sports challenge, a relay marathon reading of the New Testament in the Kearsney Chapel, an outdoor musical proms event featuring old boy musicians and performers, a Centenary Ball, with the year’s celebrations culminating in a 140km Kearsney Epic, a relay run from the chapel at Kearsney College in Botha’s Hill to the chapel at Old Kearsney, near Stanger on the KZN North Coast, where the College started in 1921.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here