FINAL STRETCH: Zaine Knickelbein B36 and Delwin Crous slug it out in the 1660 class at the last event in the Border Stock Car Association (BSCA) Dirt Oval championship of the year. Knickelbein retained the title he won last year Picture: DEAN HOLMES

THE Final event of the Border Stock Car Association (BSCA) Dirt Oval championship took place on November 13, postponed from the Saturday due to rain.

The inclement weather and a waterlogged track meant the event had to be rescheduled from a night to a daytime event.

The track conditions during the day are very different to that of the night. The sun and wind dry the track up very quickly, leaving a dusty and slippery track for competitors to ply their trade with.

The 2.1 Modified class saw Jason Prinsloo take the final chequered flag of the season along with the overall title for the year. Second place on the day went to Shawn du Preez with Kayle Power coming home in third place.

The Super-Hot Rod class saw William Hunter once again rise to the top with another first place finish to seal off a well-deserved championship victory. Cameron Hammond came home in second place with Stephan Page in third.

Reigning Champion Zaine Knickelbein took one more overall victory on the day in the 1660 class, while Delwin Crous did enough with his second place finish to take home the overall championship honours for the season. Jarryd Hurn finished in third overall.

Damon du Preez took victory in the Jnr Hot rod class while borrowing Zaine Knickelbein’s golf for the evening. Amy Naude came home in a solid second place ahead of Rudi Smith in third. Corbin Holloway unfortunately retired early in the event, but had scored enough points to secure the overall championship for the season.

In the V8 AMS class Clinton Green took both the day’s victory and the championship with another consistent performance. Craig Diedericks came home second with Shawn Victor in third place.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here