Karters go full throttle in round three

Cadet crowned driver of the day

EAST London’s Formula K Circuit saw karters battle it out in round three of the Border EP Regional Karting Championship.

ON A ROLL: Sebastian Smith came first in all three of his 60cc Juniors heats. No wonder he gave round three of the Border EP Regional Karting Championship the thumbs up Picture: DEAN HOLMES

Overcast conditions at the start of the day had competitors scratching their heads to find the optimum kart setup and tyre pressure.

Algoa Karting Club from Port Elizabeth was represented by Kiesha Potgieter and Liyen Mudaly while Kyle Heideman travelled from Komani.

The weather cleared to near-perfect racing conditions and the day produced superb racing from all classes, which had the big crowd on their feet counting down the laps.

The race results for the day are as follows:

50cc Cadets: (1) Jordan van der Merwe, (2) Redd Scholtz, (3) Heath Vallance, (4) Caleb Odendaal.

Scholtz is maturing well and his efforts were rewarded by being crowned driver of the day. Vallance did not give up in his fight for second and provided some close racing. Odendaal surprised most old hands by staying with the front pack.

Junior 60cc: (1) Sebastian Smith, (2) Kiesha Potgieter, (3) Liyen Mudaly, (4) Redd Scholtz.

Smith commanded all three heats and led from flag to flag. Potgieter and Mudaly from Algoa knocked the Border karters’ right off the podium. This class without a doubt is very exciting to watch with very close racing and a bit of rubbing in the midfield.

Border drivers will have to dig deep and be fully prepared for round four if they want to share in the silverware.

RACE RIVALS: Shaun Gradwell came first and Geoff Stephen second in the DD2 class Picture: DEAN HOLMES

Clubman’s Class A, B, C

Class A: This is the spot every driver wants.

Class B: (1) Jared de Kock, (2) Ashton Nel, (3) Melindre Marais, (4) Chene Marais.

Nel provided some exciting racing in the all-girl tussle.

Class C: (1) Kyle Heideman, (2) Cuan Flusk. Talking to Heideman after the race, he was proud of recording his personal best time. Flusk, however, will have to work harder on some aspects of his racing.

Rotax DD2: (1) Geoff Stephen, (2) Shaun Gradwell, (3) Richard Clarke, (4) Kevin Vosloo.

Notably absent from the starting grid was Bryn High, but the return of Clarke added to the spectacular racing.

Gradwell and Stephen provided hair-rising racing with very little between them changing positions up to six times in heat 3.

More karting action on August 12.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here