45 karters thrill at Grand Prix Circuit

REVVING AWAY: Bryce Choudree (front) took an early overall lead in the class in all three heats, only to be sidelined every time with an array of mechanical gremlins. Picture: DEAN HOLMES

The Border Karting season got off to a sizzling start on February 1 at the East London Grand Prix Circuit, with 45 racers participating.

The 50cc Bambino Class looked somewhat empty due to drivers moving up to bigger categories. Traiton Boshoff took an easy win ahead of newcomer Michael Breiner.

The 125cc Micro Max Class saw Lincoln Randall deliver a polished performance to claim three wins ahead of Tyler Stephen in second, with Komani’s Scott Heideman in third.

The Seniors Four-Stroke Clubmans Class had close to 20 competitors. Bryce
Choudree took an early overall lead in all three heats, only to be sidelined every time with mechanical issues. Behind him, Derek Pratt took full advantage to claim a popular overall win ahead of Leeroy Randall and Reeno Swanepoel.

In the Masters Four-Stroke Clubmans Class, you could have covered the top four with a blanket, as Greg Thompson came in ahead of Charl van Heerden, Andre Shrier and Ashley Mylie in a hard-fought duel.

The huge 125cc Clubmans class has n ow been split into three subclasses, namely Masters, Seniors and Juniors.

Some 16 competitors were entered across the three classes, with Brady Choudree taking overall pole position, ahead of Geoff Stephen and Jacques du Preez.

Choudree and Jacques du Preez had a titanic battle for overall honours up front in the Seniors class. In a twist of cruel luck, du Preez’ machine suffered a flat battery on the grid, failing to start for the final heat, which opened the way for a consistent Ethan Springfield to claim second place, Du Preez eventually ended up third.

Geoff Stephen had a relatively easy win in the Masters class, with Leeroy Randall behind him and veteran karter, Neil Stephen, exchanged paint at every turn, with Randall finally putting one over Stephen to claim second place. Their battle earned Stephen the Driver of the Day award.

In the Juniors class, Komani’s Kyle Heideman took the win ahead of Timothy Ball, having a fine outing in his maiden race in the 125cc class.

The GBB Fitment Centre sponsored Four-Stroke Academy class is doing great work by providing opportunities for newcomers. Here, Jordan du Preez emerged victorious, followed by Rebecca Williams, Rafiq Poovan and Luke Rens.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here