BCMSC elects new members

Two from King get the nod

TWO King William’s Town sports administrators were elected to serve on the executive of the Buffalo City Metro Sports Council (BCMSC) during a well-attended Confederation Quadrennial general meeting held in East London at the weekend.

NEXT LEVEL: Delegates present at the Buffalo City Metro Sport Council general meeting held in East London over the weekend Picture: SUPPLIED

King William’s Town Sport Council president Desmond Coetzee was elected to serve as an executive member responsible for transformation and Dimbaza SC secretary Thenjiwa Magijima will deal with women in sport.

Both members were on cloud nine about their new positions and promised to give their best.

Coetzee said: I never expected to serve on the executive of BCMSC, it is a huge achievement in my life as a sports administrator and I’m looking forward to serving the people in the metro to the best of my ability.”

Magijima, a school teacher by profession, said: “Coming from an area where our youth and especially our women have so many challenges, I have an enormous task to try and bring back their enthusiasm for playing sport. I am ecstatic about the task resting on my shoulders.”

Xolani Bishoti was re-elected unopposed as BCMSC president at the meeting which saw more than 60 delegates attend at the Buffalo City Metro Department of Sport, Recreation, Arts and Culture (Dsrac) House in East London.

Among the delegates were Eastern Cape Sports Confederation officials, Buffalo City Metro councillors led by Xolani Witbooi, Dsrac officials led by Dumisani Nokenke, BCM Contralesa representatives and Khoisan leaders.

Dsrac acting assistant manager Ronald Lottering was the presiding officer and said he was happy with how the elections were conducted.

Other members elected, are: Ntathu Gwadiso as first vice-president, Zola Theo (second vice president), Ayanda Langa (third vice-president), Zizo Papu (general secretary), Mzuvukile Tempi (assistant secretary), Nigel Adams (treasurer), Mandla Moshani (executive member responsible for rural sports development and Contralesa) and Tim Leeu responsible for technical and commissions.

“I’m happy to declare that the process of nominations and elections was free and fair and wish the incumbents all the best for the future,” Lottering said.

Bishoti, who has been at the helm since 2012, has not faced any opposition from his ex-committee members and it came as no surprise when he was re-elected as BCMSC president for a second term.

Bishoti said it was time to revise the way things were being done.

“We will have to look at what we are doing, how we have been doing it and look at a way forward.”

Bishoti is tasked with leading the BCMSC for the next four years and will be in charge in the build-up to the Steve Tshwete Provincial Games.

“We are also expected to enhance sports development by creating partnerships with relevant bodies to encourage and coordinate local sports councils and codes to affiliate to BCM SC,” Bishoti said.

“It is time we take the federation to the next level.”

“Now it is time to sit down with the executive and see what is needed to be done and how that can be done. “


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here