Maiden SA victory for Arangies

MOTOR MADNESS: There was plenty of excitement at the Grand Prix Circuit as drivers tore up the asphalt in a bid for the top spot

Scores of East London residents locals and motor enthusiasts turned up at the EL Grand Prix Circuit on Saturday for the Extreme Supercar and Border Regional Racing 4.

The day included races from modified saloons, clubman’s motorcycles, historic saloons and unlimited superbikes. G and H Extreme Supercars were headliners, alongside Border Motorsport’s regular drivers.

Originally billed to join the supercars line-up, Franco Scribante’s pace-setting Porsche experienced power trouble on Friday’s practice and consequently withdrew.

CHAMPION: Winning on it’s debut was the McLaren Senna tribute, driven by Charl Arangies

This left McLaren Senna tribute driver Charl Arangies with an easy first win on South African soil.

Jonathan du Toit’s Ferrari battled Johnny Giannicaro’s Lamborghini for second with Elwin Steenkamp’s BMW M3 close behind.

Darron Gudmanz and his Nissan Skyline GT-R gave the local crowd something to cheer about for with a close fifth over Ant Blunden’s Porsche, Len-Henry Gobey’s BMW Z4M, Roy Obery’s Porsche and Xo Mdolo in his Ferrari.

Arangies again sped into the distance to take Race 2 from du Toit, Steenkamp, Blunden and Jimmy Giannicaro, with Obery dominating Race 3 over Gobey, Mdolo and Quinsley Sale after Gianni Gianoccoro and Gudmanz hit trouble.

Locally, the modified saloons category was topped by Martin van Zummeran’s Border Towing Skyline GT-R in the races, to take an easy win in the eight-lap final with Bruce Butler second and Dean Ball in close pursuit.

Lodewyk Hattingh meanwhile took the opening Clubmans bike win from Paul Jansen, Malcolm Bothes and Craigan Nel, with Nel subsequently taking a close second-race win from Hattingh, Sazi Patela and Jansen.

Mike Forsyth made no mistakes while powering his Cobra to the first Border Historics win, holding position in the second and third races.

Meanwhile, Jono Webster took the opening Border motorcycle race with Nathan Ashington next up ahead of Craigan Nel and Jason Lamb a lap down. Lamb won the final ahead of Nathan Ashington and Jason Warne.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here