Border karters beat wet conditions

WINNING PEDALS: From left, Bambino class winners Lincoln Randall (second place), Traiton Boshoff (third place) and Caleb Odendaal (first place) in Round 6 of the Border Karting Championships. Picture: SUPPLIED

Despite cold and wet conditions, round six of the Border Karting Championship took place at the the East London Grand Prix karting track last Saturday for enthusiastic karters last Saturday.

In the Bambino Class, Caleb Odendaal claimed pole position and won all three heats.

Meanwhile, Lincoln Randall claimed second place ahead of Traiton Boshoff in third.

The Mini Rok and Micro Max junior classes ran together.

The two manufacturers share very different approaches with Mini Rok motors being highly tuned 60cc racing engines, whereas the Micro Max engine is a detuned version of the 125cc racing engine used in the Clubmans Class.

Jordan van der Merwe won the Mini Rok class and dominated the race in wet conditions.

Timothy Ball came in second, and earned himself the Driver of the Day award for the large improvement shown since his first outing in Round 5.

Caleb Odendaal won the Micro Max Class and sportingly removed his wet weather tyres for heat two 2 to join the rest of the slick shod field in the Micro Max Class.

The slippery conditions caught Tyler Stephen out in heat one, where a spin relegated him down to fourth place.

Scot Heideman finished second in heat one and ended the day third overall behind Tyler Stephen and ahead of Lincoln Randall.

In Class A, Geoff Stephen took three wins and the hotly contested second spot saw Brady Choudree, Jono Stephen, Keagan Rhind, Bryce Choudree and Sean Gradwell all vying for honours.

Class B was won by Jacques du Preez, with Duwayne Venter and Kyle Heideman coming second and third respectively.

In the Four-Stroke Clubmans, Brady Choudree dominated the class ahead of younger brother, Bryce. Reeno Swanepoel put in a storming drive to clinch third spot ahead of the tussling duo of Derek Pratt and Greg Thompson, who rounded out the top-five placings.

In Class B, Jayson Collins sped ahead of Warren Vosloo, Junay de Kock and Andre Shrier to take first place.

Round seven of the championship will take place on October 12 at the East London Grand Prix karting track.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CAPTCHA ImageChange Image